Friday, June 18, 2010

Javier Hernandez and Cuauhtemoc Blanco score, good job Mexico : France 0-2 Mexico

**Mexico scored twice in the second half to knock off France 2-0 Thursday, putting the Mexicans in prime position to reach the knockout stages of the 2010 FIFA World Cup and bounce the French and hosts South Africa from the tournament.

Manchester United-bound striker Javier Hernandez opened the scoring in the 64th minute in winning Man of the Match honors. And veteran Cuauhtemoc Blanco converted a penalty in the 79th minute to decide the game at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Mexico’s exciting forward Giovani Dos Santos made things interesting after just three minutes, hitting the right post though the 21-year-old Galatasaray talent was ruled offside.

The Mexican keeper was more tested in the 54th minute, deflecting over his crossbar Malouda’s blast.

The Mexicans beat a French offside trap to grab the lead in the 64th minute. Rafael Marquez played a long high ball over the French backline to Hernandez, who circled Lloris and then slotted in the empty goal, sending the Sombrero-clad Mexican fans into celebrations.

The 22-year-old Hernandez will be leaving Mexican side Chivas for Manchester United this season.

Mexico supporters were in heaven in the 79th minute as Blanco doubled the lead on a penalty. Barrera was taken down in the area by Eric Abidal with the referee responding by pointing to the spot.

The 37-year-old striker Blanco stepped up and hammered his blast into the lower left corner just past Lloris to become the first Mexican to score at three World Cups.

Team Line-Ups:

France: Hugo Lloris; Bacary Sagna, Eric Abidal, William Gallas, Patrice Evra (C); Jeremy Toulalan, Abou Diaby, Florent Malouda, Franck Ribery, Sidney Govou (Mathieu Valbuena 69'), Nicolas Anelka (Andre Pierre Cignac 45').

Mexico: Oscar Perez, Efrain Juarez (Javier Hernandez 54'), Rafael Marquez (C), Francisco Rodriguez, Carlos Salcido, Gerardo Torrado, Hector Moreno, Ricardo Osorio, Giovani Dos Santos, Guillermo Franco (Cuauhtemoc Blanco 62'), Carlos Vela (7-Pablo Barrera 31').


Post a Comment