Sunday, July 11, 2010

Spain's midfielder Andres Iniesta scored the crucial goal : Spain 1-0 Netherland

Spain won the World Cup for the first time in history after defeating the Netherlands 1-0 in the championship's final match in South Africa.

One may believe in oracles or not, but Paul the Octopus's prediction proved to be true again: it's Vicente del Bosque's team who will take home the 2010 World Cup gilded trophy.

Red and yellow flags enveloped Johannesburg's Soccer City Stadium when Spain's midfielder Andres Iniesta scored the crucial goal in the 116th minute. The game went into extra time as both Spain and the Netherlands failed to score in regulation time.

Netherlands' defender Johnny Heitinga received a red card in the 109 minute of the game.

TV reports showed crowds of happy Spanish supporters in Johannesburg and Madrid singing, chanting and tooting their car horns, celebrating their team's long-awaited victory.

Spain reached the World Cup final for the first time after defeating Germany 1-0 in the semifinals on Thursday. The Netherlands made it into the final with a 3-2 win over Uruguay on Wednesday.

The Dutch struggled for the World Cup for the third time: they lost their two previous finals to West Germany and Argentina in 1974 and 1978, respectively.

On Saturday night, three-time champions Germany finished third after beating Uruguay 3-2. Germany was also third at the 2006 World Cup hosted by the country.


Netherlands: Maarten Stekelenburg, Gregory van der Wiel, John Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Edson Braafheid 105), Dirk Kuyt (Eljero Elia 71), Mark van Bommel, Wesley Sneijder, Nigel de Jong (Rafael van der Vaart 99), Arjen Robben, Robin van Persie.

Spain: Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Gerard Pique, Carles Puyol, Joan Capdevila, Xabi Alonso (Cesc Fabregas 87), Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets, Pedro (Jesus Navas 60), David Villa (Fernando Torres 106).


Post a Comment