Sunday, May 9, 2010

Arsenal produced a devastating first half performance as they cruised past Fulham with a comprehensive 4-0 victory

* Arshavin 21
* Van Persie 26
* Baird (og) 37
* Vela 84


**Arsenal produced a devastating first half performance as they cruised past Fulham with a comprehensive 4-0 victory. The three points sealed third place in the Premier League for the Gunners and confirmed their place in next seasons Champions League group stage.

However in the 21st minute Arsenal finally broke the deadlock through Arshavin. The Russain took advantage of an error by Schwarzer who controlled the ball on the right side of his penalty area, Arshavin took the ball off the Australian goalkeeper, dribbled round his challenge before calmly slotting the ball past the two defenders on the line for his 12th goal of the season.

Five minutes later Arsenal doubled their lead through Van Persie. Bacary Sagna released Theo Walcott down the right hand side, he raced into the penalty area before playing a low pass into Van Persie, his left foot shot was saved by the feet of Schwarzer but the Dutch international made no mistake with the rebound and fired into the back of the net.

Arsenal did extend their lead in the 37th minute through an unfortunate own goal by Chris Baird. Nasri released Walcott on the right wing, he delivered a low cross which was deflected off John Pantsil onto Baird at the back post and the ball rolled past Schwarzer.

With five minutes of the half to go a rampant Arsenal created another chance, this time for the impressive Walcott. Van Persie played a pass into Eboue who flicked the ball into the path of Walcott but his shot towards the far corner was well saved by Schwarzer.

With seven minutes Arsenal got their fourth goal through the Mexican Vela. Eboue played a neat pass into Nasri in the center of midfield, the Frenchman then played a through ball into Vela who took the ball into the penalty area and chipped the ball into the back of the net over the advancing Schwarzer.

Source : Goal


Arsenal: Lukasz Fabianski, Gael Clichy, Mikael Silvestre (Johan Djourou 62), Sol Campbell, Bacary Sagna; Samir Nasri, Abou Diaby, Emmanuel Eboue; Robin Van Persie, Andrei Arshavin (Carlos Vela 77), Theo Walcott (Henri Lansbury 77)

Fulham: Mark Schwarzer, Nicky Shorey, Chris Smalling, John Pantsil (Stephen Kelly 59), Chris Baird; Clint Dempsey (Fredrik Stoor 67), Jonathan Greening, Kagisho Evidence Dikgacoi, Bjorn Riise (David Elm 45), Stefano Okaka Chuka, Erik Nevland


Post a Comment