Thursday, February 18, 2010

Barry sends City fourth

- Whelan 72

- Barry 85

**With the game finely poised at 1-1 the Potters appeared to have won the game right at the death thanks to the 22-year-old, however, it was ruled out for no apparent reason.

Prior to that Abdoulaye Faye was controversially sent off for pulling the shirt of Emmanuel Adebayor, however, that was after he clearly won the ball from the Togo international.

Stoke felt hard done by at the end as Ryan Shawcross's stoppage time goal was harshly ruled out for a foul on City goalkeeper Shay Given.

Four times inside the opening 10 minutes, Delap unleashed his rocket throws and Shawcross almost took advantage twice as he headed over and then had an effort cleared by Micah Richards.

City finally fashioned a sight of goal when Barry shot wide, then Paraguay striker Santa Cruz tried his luck with a volley from Adam Johnson's cross.

After being battered in the first half, City got a break when Emmanuel Adebayor raced onto a long punt from Given and Faye responded by hauling down the Togo striker outside the penalty area.

Referee Alan Wiley consulted with his assistant before showing Faye a straight red card.

Pulis' side showed no signs of ending their early assault on the visitors goal with Republic of Ireland pair Lawrence and Glenn Whelan firing over from just outside the penalty area, score 1-0.

But England midfielder Barry levelled 1-1 with just five minutes left at the Britannia Stadium to lift City above Liverpool into the final Champions League place with a game in hand still to play.

City found it hard to make their one-man advantage count however and Stoke were back on the attack when Fuller appealed for a penalty after Barry blocked his route to goal.

This result Barry sends City moved into fourth place above Liverpool in the Premier League.


Stoke: Sorensen, Huth, Shawcross, Abdoulaye Faye, Higginbotham (Collins 45), Delap, Whitehead, Whelan, Lawrence (Diao 60), Sidibe, Fuller (Beattie 80)

Manchester City: Given, Richards (Zabaleta 81), Toure, Lescott, Garrido (SWP 60), Adam Johnson (Petrov 86), Vieira, De Jong, Barry, Santa Cruz, Adebayor;


Post a Comment